NOJHL names its Eastlink TV 3 Stars of the Week

SUDBURY, Ont. – The Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League (NOJHL) announced Monday that defenceman Spencer Horgan (Espanola Paper Kings); forward Harry Clark (Timmins Rock) and goaltender Dryden Riley (Timmins Rock) have been named its Eastlink TV 3 Stars of the Week, for the period ending March 24.

SPENCER HORGAN, (D) ESPANOLA PAPER KINGS: Horgan’s offensive efforts have helped Espanola take a 2-1 lead in their best-of-seven West Division semifinal against Blind River.

This included a four-goal night on the road in Game 2 against the Beavers, that now sees the 19-year-old Bowmanville, Ont., product and 1st Team NOJHL All-Star lead all league blueliners in postseason scoring, with seven points, on five tallies and two assists.

The last time a NOJHL defenceman scored four times in a playoff game was back on March 15, 2015 when Soo Thunderbirds rearguard Owen Headrick accomplished the feat in a home-ice triumph versus Blind River.

HARRY CLARK, (F) TIMMINS ROCK: Clark notched a pair of markers in each of his hometown team’s triumphs to commence their series with Iroquois Falls.

The 20-year-old 1st Team NOJHL All-Star and Best Overall Team Player award recipient also assisted on the game-winner in the opening win against the Storm.

Dating back to last season, Clark has scored goals in each of his past four league playoff outings.

Posting a shutout in his NOJHL playoff debut Sunday, Riley’s efforts helped the Rock blank Iroquois Falls and take a two-game lead in their East Division match-up.

Riley becomes the first rookie goaltender in the league to post a shutout in his initial postseason appearance since former Timmins goaltender Jacob Brown achieved the mark, one year ago today.

Prior to that, current Greater Sudbury Cubs goalkeeper Noah Metivier matched the accomplishment with the Soo Thunderbirds back in April of 2022 versus Blind River, while former Powassan Voodoos standout stopper Joe Verbetic did likewise against Kirkland Lake on March 15, 2019.


Week 1
Spencer Horgan, (D) Espanola Paper Kings
Harry Clark, (F) Timmins Rock
Dryden Riley, (G) Timmins Rock